NORD announces 2021 Rare Impact Award honorees

By The Science Advisory Board staff writers

February 24, 2021 -- The National Organization for Rare Disorders (NORD) announced the honorees for the 2021 Rare Impact Awards.

The honorees will be recognized at a virtual event on June 28. Part of the Living Rare, Living Stronger NORD Patient and Family Forum, the award is given to those making strides to improve the lives of patients and families affected by rare diseases.

Rare Impact Awards will be presented to the following patient advocates:

  • Jade Day
  • Daniela Delgado
  • Robert Long
  • Kam Redlawsk

Rare Impact Awards will be presented to the following healthcare providers:

  • Susan Fernbach, RN,
  • Cathleen Lutz, PhD, MBA
  • Dr. Natasha Shur
  • Dr. Jason Sicklick

Rare Impact Awards will be presented to the following NORD Rare Action Network volunteer ambassadors:

  • Danyelle Sun
  • Mary Wootten
  • Massachusetts State Rep. Hannah Kane
  • U.S. Sen. Patty Murray (D-CA)

Dr. Peter Marks, the director of the Center for Biologics Evaluation and Research at the U.S. Food and Drug Administration will be presented with a Public Health Leadership Award. The Desmoid Tumor Research Foundation will receive the Abbey S. Meyers Leadership Award.

2021 Industry Innovation Award honorees include:

Glasgow International Health Festival
August 24-27
Glasgow, Glasgow City United Kingdom
Pharma Competitive Intelligence Conference and Exhibition
September 21-22
Newark, New Jersey United States
BioProcess International (BPI) Conference
September 27-30
Boston, Massachusetts United States
Laboratory Products Association Annual Meeting
October 1-4
Scottsdale, Arizona United States
Science Advisory Board on LinkedIn
Science Advisory Board on Facebook
Science Advisory Board on Twitter